the blind flight, making an emergency landing

Hello.

I have come to the decision to suspend the program for as little as a couple of weeks and as long as a few months.

It was almost a year ago when I announced that the program would be on final approach and after hearing from so many of you and considering what it was about the program that, I myself didn’t enjoy, I decided to maintain the current flight path and bring you unique ambient music that you likely wouldn’t hear anywhere else.

Over the last couple of months, I have discovered that the joy in broadcasting for me is gone and so I feel that it is necessary for me to step away from the hobby for a while to reevaluate whether this is something I’d like to continue doing.

I have spoken to the management of stillstream.fm to whom I am eternally grateful for providing such a platform for my broadcast in the first place, and they understand.

Since I still enjoy performing live on the network, I will be doing that from time to time as the inspiration comes about. As you know, a lot of my releases are based on these performances so I hope to keep that going, even in the midst of my absence of having a proper show on Friday nights.

I’d like to say now what I said almost a year ago and that is I’d like to thank all of you for your listenership of the program, your interactions in the chat room and by email and to all who downloaded the podcasts and gave me your time when you were able to.

This hobby, aside from allowing me to bring interesting music to you, has allowed me to not only make a lot of new friends and connections, but it has also given me the opportunity to support ambient artists by playing their works and featuring them in shows, at times, dedicated completely to their music alone.

To all the record labels who have so generously provided me with physical copies and downloads of your albums, I appreciate your support as well in helping me to realize my dream that I have always had to be a broadcaster.

Last, but certainly not least, I’d like to give great thanks to my friend Melissa Roe who has given generously of her time and voice to help with intro and outro material for the program. Her contributions have given the show a bit of a different voice than it used to have and that made it more unique.

My intuition tells me that the dream is not over, I just need some time away for a while so I’m certain the program will return and when that time arrives, you will be the first to know.

Thank you, from the bottom of my heart, for exploring sonic curiosities and traveling with me each week from your mind to the outer edges of the galaxy.

One thought on “the blind flight, making an emergency landing

  1. Zombie Joes says:

    HAVE A GREAT SUMMER SCOTT!

Leave a Reply

