AToZChallenge p is for…

Hello.

Today’s song list is brought to you by the letter p.

I’m not sure what I’m going to do for q which is supposed to be today so I might have to delay that one and catch up later.

For my first song selection, I’m going back to 1967 to Pink Floyd’s Piper at the Gates of Dawn album and my favorite track, Chapter 24.

I first heard this over the summer of 1983 I believe it was and it reminds me of my bedroom at the house we used to live in in Boca Raton Florida.

I had that room wired up for quadrophonic sound, well, actually, two speakers into each channel of a stereo turntable connected by those y adapters, you probably remember those. That was when if you had questions, RadioShack actually knew what they were talking about.

For the next track, I’m moving ahead a few years to the early 1970’s and a German group called

Popol Vuh. The album is called Bruder Des Schattens – Sohne Des Lichts and the track is called Hoere, Der Du Wagst.

This has an uncanny similarity to a track by Arvo Pärt called Für Alina. Compare the two and see if you feel they’re similar in style.

Moving in to the late 90’s I bring you a favorite by Porcupine tree, a track called Rainy Taxi. It’s another in the key of B minor, a favorite key of mine also. I’m partial to the minor keys and in particular, the harmonic minor scales, my most loved being in the key of g minor.

I couldn’t find this song on Youtube so there’s no link for this one.

I’m going to end this entry with a very nice track by the group Poe from their Hello cd. It’s called Fly away.

I hope you’re enjoying my track list entries and that you’re able to discover some new music that you hadn’t encountered before.

Thanks for reading.

Leave a Reply

