g is for…#ATOZChallenge

Hi.

Maybe I’m slacking a bit already but I couldn’t’ come up with a specific topic for the letter g.

As a result, I’m going to list some of my favorite tracks by artists whose names begin with this letter.

A cop out? No way, check out the list and I’m sure you’ll find things in there you haven’t heard of or haven’t heard in a long time.

Here’s the list and explanations about some of the tracks, if there’s one to be had as why why it’s a favorite.

Starting with a pretty popular singer, we have George Harrison and his track Beware of Darkness from his 1970 record album called "all things must Pass.

To my knowledge, this was one of the first 3 disk records that was ever released. Spocks Beard did a remake of this track which is actually pretty cool.

Next, a great piano track by George Winston called Longing, Love. This was one of the first new-age piano tracks I ever heard and it’s always been a favorite of mine.

Moving into the mystical, there’s Gandalf and his track The Keeper Of The Old Forest, another early introduction to the world of new-age music for me. This is from the album fantasia.

Heading over to the harp, I introduce you to Georgia Kelly, a fantastic new-age harpist and a couple of tracks called The Sound of Spirit, harp solo and The Sound of Spirit, choral epilogue. These tracks are on a cd called Perennials which is like a best of so whatever original cd they’re on, I don’t have it. If anyone knows what album these originate on, I’d love to know. I strongly encourage you to check out any of her work, it’s all great.

We move back to electronic, I guess this would almost be chill, maybe even downtempo but it’s a track called 14_31 by Global Communication. It’s my favorite selection on the cd and the disk is a big hit among lovers of ambient music. Highly recommended.

A lesser known favorite of mine that a lot of people probably aren’t familiar with, even in ambient circles, is the title track to Glyn Lloyd-Jones – Ocean of serenity. This is another superb disk and there either isn’t enough discussion about it or I just haven’t looked hard enough. Another one very highly recommended.

Getting a little weird now, we move into some jazz with a track by Graham Haynes called South Node Of The Moon In Pisces from the album Transition. My best friend in the whole world introduced this album to me and this track in particular. He had a really cool story to tell about the track that involved a trip on a greyhound bus, some naturally occurring herbs and a burning field, if I remember right.

And finally, if you want to get stoned, listen to Guru Guru’s album called UFO, in particular, the first track called Stone In. This is a great psychedelic garage band sounding track that’s just really cool.

What are some of your favorite tracks by artists that begin with the letter g? I’d love to hear your thoughts and suggestions for further listening, especially if they’re out of the mainstream.

Thanks for reading.

2 thoughts on “g is for…#ATOZChallenge

  1. mryjhnsn says:

    Ah… stoned. *sigh*

  2. Shilpa Garg says:

    George Michael and his Careless Whisper… during college days, we used to listen to it on loop. Among Indian (Punjabi) singers Gurdas Maan is my favourite! 🙂

Leave a Reply

