new release: Drone Excursion 001 AKA The Choral Drone

Hello.

My newest release, Drone Excursion 001 is available for download. I’d like to thank Thomas of Weareallghosts for hosting this new series of Drone compositions and, as always, I’m honored to have my music on a label of such magnificence. Here’s what Thomas had to say about the release.

I have a lot of love for Scott Lawlor’s music and was delighted to be approached by him to release his ‘drone.excursion’ series of longform drones.

Inspired by the work of Cousin Silas, Lawlor is going on his own journey into post-sixty minute soundscapes … and I am proud to support him in this endeavour.

drone.excursion.001 (waag_dex001) aka ‘the choral drone’ is an intense vocal-orientated piece that reminds me of György Ligeti’s "Atmospheres", a piece that is famous for being featured in Kubrick’s ‘2001: A Space Odyssey’.

On the Wikipedia page for "Atmospheres", reference is made to a comment Harold Kaufman made about the piece: "Ligeti’s music collapses foreground and background elements of musical structure into a ‘magma of evolving sound’". I believe this to be also true of the work Lawlor has achieved with drone.excursion.001 (waag_dex001) … is a rich, intense piece that envelopes the listener with a sense of timelessness and rewards with repeated listens.

I really do hope you will enjoy this piece as much as I have.

Here’s the download for the track and thanks for listening.

http://weareallghosts.bandcamp.com/album/drone-excursion-001-waag-dex001

Leave a Reply

